SMOS SAG
 

1 Role of the SAG

The SMOS Science Advisory Group (SAG), is a group of scientists set up by ESA to help the lead investigator and the ESA SMOS team by giving advise on the scientific aspects of the mission. It should in particular give advise on:

The SAG is chaired with the LI and co chaired by the Co-LI. The Earth Science division organises and convene the SAG Meetings.
The SMOS SAG was initiated in 2000 for phases A and B and was renewed in 2004 for the phase C/D
 

2. Participants

The participants of the SAG are nominated for a given Phase to adapt the sepctrum of competences to the needs of the phase.
For Phase A and B the SAG remained unchanged
and consisted of
                
 Role
Name
Affiliation
Country
 Email
Chair 
Dr. Yann H. Kerr
CESBIO
F
Yann.kerr@cesbio.cnes.fr
Co Chair 
Dr. Jordi Font 
ICM CSIC
SP
jfont@icm.csic.es
Secretary
Dr. Michael Berger
ESA ESTEC
NL
Michael.Berger@esa.int
Land 
Dr. Paolo Ferrazzoli
 University of Rome
IT
ferrazz@pop.disp.uniroma2.it
Cryosphere
 Prof Martti Hallikainen
HUT
FIN
Martti.Hallikainen@hut.fi
Image reconstruction
Dr. Markus Peichl
 DRL
D
Markus.Peichl@dlr.de
Meteorology
Dr. Pedro Viterbo
ECMWF
UK
p.viterbo@ecmwf.int
Land and system
Dr. Philippe Waldteufel
SA
F
Philippe.Waldteufel@ipsl.uvsq.fr
Instrument
Dr. David LeVine
NASA GSFC
USA
dmlevine@meneg.gsfc.nasa.gov
Land
Dr. Thomas J. Jackson
USDA
USA
tjackson@hydrolab.arsusda.gov
Ocean
Dr. Gary Lagerloeof
ESR
USA
lager@esr.org

We are all very thankful to the first SAG for the very positive and active role it played during phases A and B. For Phse C/D it was decided to renew the SAG as it is customary. The scope shifted from definition to applications. The participants to the New SAG are listed below :

Role Name Affiliation E-mail
Chair Yann H. Kerr CESBIO Yann.Kerr@cesbio.cnes.fr
Co Chair Jordi Font ICM-CSIC jfont@icm.csic.es
Secretary Michael Berger ESA ESTEC Michael.Berger@esa.int
IR Eric Anterrieu CERFACS Eric.Anterrieu@cerfacs.fr,
IR Ignasi Corbella UPC corbella@tsc.upc.es
SM Aadrian van den Griend VU Amsterdam griend@geo.vu.nl
GCM Bart van den Hurk KNMI hurkvd@knmi.nl
SSS Pierre-Yves Le Traon CLS Pierre-Yves.Letraon@cls.fr
Cryo Christian Maetzler Univ. Bern matzler@iap.unibe.ch
IR Markus Peichl DLR markus.peichl@dlr.de
SSS Nicolas Reul IFREMER nreul@ifremer.fr
Ant Niels Skou DTU ns@oersted.dtu.dk
OCM Detlef Stammer Univ. Hamburg stammer@ifm.uni-hamburg.de
Hydro Wolfgang Wagner Univ. Vienna ww@ipf.tuwien.ac.at
SYS Philippe Waldteufel SA waldteufel@aerov.jussieu.fr
OBSERV Jochen Grandell EumetSat grandell@eumetsat.de
OBSERV Matthias Drusch ECMWF matthias.drusch@ecmwf.int
Hydros Tom Jackson USDA HydroLab Tom_Jackson@esa.int,
Aquarius Gary Lagerloef ESR lagerloef@esr.org
IR
David LeVine NASA GFSC dmlevine@priam.gsfc.nasa.gov


3. Activities

The Sag meets regularly. The minutes of the past meetings are given in pdf form.

Minutes of the

Several documents were also produced by or are related to SAG